Slice of Life Challenge- Day 1- “Reminder”

So, many of my teacher friends across the country participated last year in the Slice of Life Challenge to blog/write each day. Their tenacity and commitment have challenged me to give it a try this year. Those of you who know me, know I struggle to write and to blog even every few months! So, here we go….

 

My youngest boy is ten years old. He is alternately a delight and alternately, well, a 10 year old boy 🙂 Being the youngest of 4 is not an easy job! And with 2 working parents, sometimes it is easy to blend into the background. He works so hard so many days to be as grown up as his older brothers that I sometimes worry he is missing out on just being a kid.

Today he stayed home from school sick. This has been a far too frequent occurrence lately. I went to work late so his dad, who works from home, could take care of some things this morning. As I was getting ready, my sweet boy sidled his way into my room, buried himself under the covers and said ‘That was great!”

“What was great?” I asked.

“Mater’s Tall Tales. It was funny.” I had heard his giggles earlier and thought perhaps it was another Sponge Bob marathon (I couldn’t bring myself to check!) But instead, it was the silly tow truck, Mater, from the Disney movie Cars. A poignant reminder that for all his bluff and bluster, all his attempts to imitate his three teen brothers, he is still my little boy at heart.

7 thoughts on “Slice of Life Challenge- Day 1- “Reminder”

  1. Ahh, I know exactly what you speak of here. That time when they long to grow up but still have the kid inside. My oldest is there. I recognize it from years of teaching this age group. I love when fifth graders let down their walls and are little kids. It is a joy to see. Hope he’s feeling better soon!

  2. Teresa- Welcome to Slice of Life! I’ve done it for four (maybe five?) years. I’ve met so, so, so many nice people online. Hope that will be true for you too! Happy slicing!

  3. What sweet words. I could see your whole slice and the calm in your snuggle with your “little boy.” They surprise us sometimes don’t they? Great words today.

  4. Awww! What a sweet slice! It reminds me of a conversation I had with a friend whose son is 5 years older than mine. She loved coming to visit us with him because at our house he would drop the teen bluster and play legoes, but he’d abandoned that around his peers. I’m sure you are cherishing these days with your youngest.

Leave a Reply

